Jon Rahm, Lilia Boo… Men’s and Women’s Players of the Year Honored by the American Golf Journalists Association

Jon Rahm (Spain), who has been playing LIV Golf since this season after leaving the PGA Tour, has been named the 2023 “Men’s Player of the Year” by the PGA Press Association (GWAA). Lilia Bu (U.S.) of the LPGA Tour is the female player of the year, and Steve Stricker (U.S.), who plays in the PGA Tour Champions, has won the Senior Player of the Year award.헤라카지노도메인

GWAA said on Sunday that Lam has been named the 2023 Men’s Player of the Year. Lam won four major championships including the Masters Tournament, the Sentry Tournament of Champions, the American Express, and the Genesis Invitational, and led the European team to the Ryder Cup, showing the most outstanding performances in the PGA Tour. She transferred to LIV Golf, which is sponsored by Saudi Arabia’s sovereign wealth fund, last month after collecting a large down payment, but golf reporters threw 48.9 percent of the votes for her. Ranked second was Viktor Hovlan of Norway, who received 33 percent of the votes. The top prize winner, Scottie Scheffler of the U.S., only garnered 18 percent of the votes to rank third.

After learning about the award, Lam said, “I was named the Player of the Year to reporters who carefully watched all the competitions and shots that I participated in throughout the year. I am honored to receive this award.”

Boo was named the female golfer of the year. Boo, who was almost unknown until the 2022 season due to lack of victory, swept four wins including two major wins, including the Chevron Championship and the AIG Women’s Open, to rank No. 1 in the world in women’s golf. He received overwhelming support of 72.9 percent in the vote of reporters.

Stricker, who has won as many as six wins, including three major wins, in the PGA Tour Champions, a senior stage, won the Player of the Year award in the senior category.

GWAA, a group of reporters covering golf in the U.S., was founded in 1946 and has been selecting the player of the year through membership voting since 1975. The award ceremony will take place at Augusta National Golf Club on the eve of the opening of the Masters in April.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *